What three territories did the US conquer from Spain in the Spanish American War?

The war ended with the 1898 Treaty of Paris, negotiated on terms favorable to the U.S. It ceded ownership of Puerto Rico, Guam, and the Philippine islands from Spain to the U.S. and granted the U.S. temporary control of Cuba.

What were 3 territories gained after the Spanish American War?

Representatives of Spain and the United States signed a peace treaty in Paris on December 10, 1898, which established the independence of Cuba, ceded Puerto Rico and Guam to the United States, and allowed the victorious power to purchase the Philippines Islands from Spain for $20 million.

IT\'S AMAZING:  How many stadiums does Real Madrid have?

What 3 territories from Spain did the United States take away from Spain when the Spanish American War was over?

The Treaty of Paris ending the Spanish-American War was signed on December 10, 1898. In it, Spain renounced all claim to Cuba, ceded Guam and Puerto Rico to the United States and transferred sovereignty over the Philippines to the United States for $20 million.

What 3 territories does the video state the US gained from Spain as a result of the Spanish American War?

As a result of the war, the United States acquired Puerto Rico, Guam, and the Philippines as territories.

What were the 4 territories gained from Spanish-American War?

Spain relinquishes sovereignty over Cuba; cedes Puerto Rico, Guam and the Philippine Islands to the United States.

What territories did the US gain?

Those territories are American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands. Puerto Rico and Northern Mariana Islands are considered commonwealths and have their own constitutions.

Which numbered territory did the United States gain by winning the Spanish-American War?

The Treaty of Paris (1898) officially ended the Spanish-American War. The United States acquired Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines as territories.

What were three causes of the Spanish-American War?

Causes of Spanish American War

  • U.S. support of Cuba’s independence.
  • To protect U.S. business interests in Cuba.
  • Yellow Journalism.
  • Sinking of the U.S.S. Maine.

Who won the Spanish-American War?

U.S. victory in the war produced a peace treaty that compelled the Spanish to relinquish claims on Cuba, and to cede sovereignty over Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines to the United States. The United States also annexed the independent state of Hawaii during the conflict.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Is Spanish useful in India?

Which territory remained independent of the United States?

Guam and Puerto Rico remain territories; the Philippines became independent in 1946, after being a major theater of World War II.

Why did the United States declare war on Spain in 1898?

On April 21, 1898, the United States declared war against Spain. … The reasons for war were many, but there were two immediate ones: America’s support the ongoing struggle by Cubans and Filipinos against Spanish rule, and the mysterious explosion of the battleship U.S.S. Maine in Havana Harbor.

What ship sank in Havana harbor?

At 9:40pm on February 15, 1898, the battleship U.S.S. Maine exploded in Havana Harbor, killing 268 men and shocking the American populace.

What territories did the United States acquire as a result of the Spanish-American War quizlet?

What new territories did the United States acquire as a result of the Spanish-American War? The U.S. gained control of Cuba as a protectorate, as well as Puerto Rico, the Philippines, and Guam from Spain as territories. (Puerto Rico and Guam are still U.S. territories. Cuba became independent in 1902.)

What is meant by unincorporated territories How is this different than other territories?

Territories of the United States are sub-national administrative divisions overseen by the U.S. federal government. … Unincorporated territories in particular are not considered to be integral parts of the United States, and the Constitution of the United States applies only partially in those territories.

Which of the following territories was not acquired by the US after the Spanish-American War?

Spain had dominated Central and South America since the late fifteenth century. But, by 1890, the only Spanish colonies that had not yet acquired their independence were Cuba and Puerto Rico.

IT\'S AMAZING:  What direction is Spain from United States?